Guest post – Roy McCarthy

This week, I’d like to introduce Roy McCarthy, who is my very first guest here at Harvesting Hecate.  I was introduced to Roy back in January, when I read his post about Lillie Langtry and since then I’ve been treated to wonderful writing on a variety of subjects, including reading, writing, running and Jersey’s fascinating sights and history.  Having thoroughly enjoyed Roy’s books, which seem to have the things he’s passionate about running through them, I wanted to know a bit about what inspired him to write them and what his next book will be about.  So, over to Roy:

It’s a big responsibility, being asked to contribute to someone else’s blog. Even more so when that blog is of the quality of Andrea’s Harvesting Hecate. Andrea’s wonderfully descriptive writing, inspired by nature and given depth by hints of other worldliness is a class apart, and I always look forward to it.

Andrea has asked me to write on the topic of inspiration – what has inspired my own writing. So first, my three self-published novels.

41G+SkL-cDL__SL160_PIsitb-sticker-arrow-dp,TopRight,12,-18_SH30_OU02_AA160_

Barry The original vanity novel which I was delighted to write and have printed with my name on! Coming to the sport of running somewhat late in life I was inspired enough to write a chapter on the subject. Barry, a former champion runner, gone to seed, making a comeback. This first chapter sat there for at least two years. Then, at a dismal time in my life I decided to set myself targets, one of which was to complete Barry. In doing so I found myself enjoying the creative process and, within the confines of a full-time job, have continued to write ever since.

51WHSGgqw0L__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_A Jersey Midsummer Tale Running sets the mind free. One day on Jersey’s Railway Walk I took to pondering the link between those railway days – the line closed in 1935, and the present day. Thus began my first foray into historical research with a love affair begun on Midsummer Day 1935 and set in and around the west of the Island. Part 2 of the book was set in the present day with an attempt to parallel Part 1 with modern characters and to find what elements link the two periods.

518J-FNiBFL__BO2,204,203,200_PIsitb-sticker-v3-big,TopRight,0,-55_SX278_SY278_PIkin4,BottomRight,1,22_AA300_SH20_OU02_

 

Tess of Portelet Manor I loved the research for Midsummer and I loved Tess, one of my 1935 characters. I therefore decided to follow her story through and beyond the German Occupation (1940-45) with the assistance of the wealth of material available to students of that period. I’m very happy with the result.

All of the above are available for Kindle here

IMG00138-20140404-0836A West Cork Mystery Over the years I have spent a lot of time in Ireland, particularly Cork and the west. On a quiet, misty day and in the evening, as the dim shadows fade altogether, it is easy to feel the spirit of Ireland’s past all around. The country is replete with myth and legend just waiting to be captured within the cover of a book.

SAMSUNG CSCBut it was Australian author Dianne Gray who provided the spark for this story. She and her husband are renovating an old building which has had a number of uses down the years, one notably as a rugby clubhouse. In stripping back the layers of paint and paper its past has been slowly uncovered. What memories might have been trapped in that building, if they could be revealed?

So this is Dunmurry House in West Cork. The story is complete but needs an extensive rework after which I hope that it might be a commercial proposition.

My thanks once again to Andrea and I hope to be featuring her work over at my place soon.


Thank you to Roy for sharing his thoughts on inspiration.  I hope you enjoyed reading about Roy’s books and the inspiration behind them as much as I did.  Visit Roy over at http://backontherock.com for more.

45 thoughts on “Guest post – Roy McCarthy

  1. Reblogged this on Back On The Rock and commented:
    I was delighted to be asked to write a piece on ‘Inspiration’ on Andrea
    Srevenson’s blog. Do spend a little while dipping into Andrea’s back numbers for some wonderfully descriptive work with accompanying photography.

    Like

  2. lovely to meet you Roy 🙂 I am especially intrigued by your Jersey Midsummer Tale and Tess as I love historical fiction so will see if I can download them (don’t have Kindle – I have Kobo) and of course your current project sounds wonderful “stripping back the layers of paint” to uncover the past – wonderful!

    Like

  3. This is a wonderful post, Andrea. What a lovely surprise to hear Roy talking about my house renovations sparking his inspiration for A West Cork Mystery. I’m so very flattered! 😀

    Roy is a wonderful writer and I’m so looking forward to reading A West Cork Mystery (I can’t wait!) 😉

    Like

  4. Awesome guest post, Roy! Wow, you and Andrea in the same spot…it doesn’t get any better! I really enjoyed reading the behind the scenes of your books. You are indeed a busy writer. 🙂
    I love that your current project was inspired by Dianne Gray…love her!
    Thanks for hosting Roy, Andrea!

    Like

  5. Hi there Roy. Well, you need no introduction for me but it was fascinating to learn the inspiration for your books – you are proof that writing about places you know and with a passion are what good stories and therefore books are made of. Researching the history for your novels must have been an enlightening experience in itself and then to be able to share it within the context of your stories was surely satisfying!
    Thanks Andrea for putting Roy on the spot – the synopses of his books are just great.

    Like

  6. Thank you, Andrea, for introducing a new writer to us. I always enjoy reading about other writers’ sources of inspiration and Roy certainly has found many great ways to write fresh material. I am especially intrigued by the story of Tess, since I grew up listening to countless stories related to the German occupation of France and other countries. Thanks again, Andrea and Roy.

    Like

  7. Yay! Roy rocks and it’s so great that you spotlighted him here at your place, Andrea. I’ve read Jersey Midsummer and Tess. I found them both to be delightful and unique. Can’t wait to read the next one!

    Like

  8. Thank you Andrea for introducing Roy to me/us. I love meeting new writers and learning how and where they get their inspiration. Worth checking out once I’m settled in..

    Like

  9. Andrea, I have to apologise, as I seem to have missed this post and not idea why. I wanted to catch up with you before I go away for a couple of weeks. Loved this first guest post of yours, and welcome, very pleased to meet you Roy! I will certainly be paying you a visit when I return from my break, your books all sound very interesting.
    Thanks for this Andrea, congratulations on your first guest post, I really enjoyed it 🙂

    Like

  10. Having been living at Portelet for 15 years I am looking forward to reading the copy of ‘Tess’ which my neighbour has just given me after having met Roy. Always interesting to read books where you can visualise the settings.
    Thanks to my lovely neighbour and to Roy for the book.

    Like

I love comments, please leave a reply

