Melting

On the hottest day of the year, I take a morning walk through the forest. The chalk and gravel path is dusty and speaks of sun and heat to come. I wander a curved path through the meadow, bristling with the dark heads of old thistles and pale grasses. Most of the flowers are gone and it is the webs that offer adornment. Particularly at this time of the morning, when the sun is still on its golden climb and there is moisture left in the ground. Orbs as big as dinner plates and close knit triangles, like hammocks on the grass. When you notice one, you see them all.

I cross the bridge over a trickling stream. There is nobody else in the forest. I am accompanied by the soft songs of birds, the gentle buzz of bee and fly, the silent dance of butterflies across dappled light. Through plantations of conifers brooding over the path. Past familiar landmarks, like the gate that leads nowhere and the valley strung with telegraph poles and wires. Delicate heather is in flower, and I find a blooming of fungi, despite the dry conditions. A huge area of forest has been cleared, opening a shattered vista that is being colonised by new growth and more webs. I cross the stream again, past a rowan flaming with berries, back to the meadow. I’m tired and hot already. Back in the cabin, we close the heavy curtains and retreat indoors.

It is early September. We had hoped for autumn. Days cool for walking, nights chill enough to light the log burner. When we heard the forecasts, we assumed there would be a few hot days at the beginning of the week, before the season felt more like it should. But the heat hasn’t broken. Despite the shade of the forest, it has been too hot to walk. Winston manages a short wander before he is panting and wobbly. We stay close to the cabin, embraced by oak, pine, birch and ash. Ivy hugs the trunks of the trees. Pine needles flutter onto the deck. We’re visited by mobs of blue, great and coal tits, a shy and ragged robin, a few chaffinches, blackbirds and a nuthatch. A treecreeper spirals up and down the trees and a woodpecker taps softly on a nearby trunk. For the first time, I hear the mew of a buzzard. It reminds me of a score of movies in which a hawk’s cry is a symbol of the unforgiving desert. I watch as a pair glide over the canopy. It seems appropriate.

A grey squirrel is like a noisy delinquent: rustling foliage, cracking seeds, dropping things onto the metal roof. He feasts on acorns and blackberries, topped up by bird food he munches while defiantly watching us. This may or may not be Steve, rescued as a baby by the site manager and named before they knew he was a she. S/he seems content to spend the day leaping between the small cluster of trees that surround us. For an hour or so in the early afternoon, we cross to the site café to have a drink in air-conditioned comfort and watch a plethora of red admirals drink from the buddleia outside. As the sun sinks, the swallows and swifts appear, high up above the trees, dancing across the sky after the midges.

That night lightning darts across the sky. There is no thunder. No rain. Just the light. Flashes faint and bright, silhouetting the trees, as though a silent piece of music is being conducted across the sky. It is the following night when bass and percussion arrive. Rain batters the leaves, like the fall and rise of applause. Thunder booms and grumbles. For hours, we’re mesmerised by the storm. It is a gloriously rowdy end to the heatwave.

We leave the forest before dawn. The paths are muddy and the landscape infused with fog. The woods appear sickly green in the headlights. A toad crawls across the road like an alien. As we leave the trees behind, the fields are spectral with mist. A sliver of moon and Venus are bright in a pastel sky. In my pocket is an acorn, a gift left on the deck by Steve or perhaps the tree itself, a reminder that the dark half of the year has arrived, but that it holds the promise of growth within it. On this enchanted morning I can believe in the possibility of autumn and all it will bring.

63 thoughts on “Melting

  1. A beautiful poem – capturing the best of the autumn season. It is now October 5th, and it is still warm. Tomorrow I go to Scotland for a week and am hoping for cooler temperatures – a more seasonal feel to the air. Thank you for the beautiful meditation. 🙂

    Like

  2. Hi Andrea. It’s so nice to see your post and share your walking adventure. I feel transported by your words. Sorry you’re having a long hot September. We did too, but finally autumn seems to have arrived here. Hopefully for you too.

    Like

  3. What a lovely area you live in. I never get tired of reading your writing, my friend. You are a gifted storyteller. Thank you for taking me along on your walk.

    Like

  4. I saved your recent offering to enjoy after our own bungalow in the forest getaway and your lovely words and wander amplified our time away (and brought back some lovely memories). After reading your words, I feel like I’ve been on another getaway, Andrea, with both of us wishing for true autumn to arrive! At least the rains have arrived here with the first atmospheric river of the season arriving yesterday…

    Like

  5. Bore da, Andrea. From one day to another – from one place to another – from one season to another. The description of your early morning departure is wonderful. I call that time of day my while the rest of the World sleeps moment. The better of the two bookends in my opinion.
    I’ve enjoyed my read of your posts. Thank you for sharing your moments with us. Say hello to Winston for me, please.
    Take care.

    Like

  6. Hi Andrea – I tried posting yesterday, and WP gave me a terrible time – DK why. Trying again. As always, love walking with you, sharing some of the things that we both see around us, those wonderful, gauzy spiderwebs, the birds, the lightning. And I’m in love with little Steve. Hope you’re well.

    Like

  7. I miss the orbs as soon as they’re gone, which seems so immediate, doesn’t it? Like an event the spiders have set up and taken down overnight… Happy new year, Andrea! 🌒🌕🌘

    Like

  8. I hope autumn is treating you well, Andrea. The magic of how you described seeing the orbs is something I marvel at as well. Once you notice one, they all come into view and are a sight to see. These moments you share with us are special, I take what you write and create a dream while reading. 🙂

    Like

  9. Your writing is as beautiful as always, Andrea, and I feel as if I am there. Cloud to cloud lightning as silent music is a delightful thought. I love storm watching and storm light. Few thunderstorms pass directly overhead in my area, and in summer I am always worried about hail and its tendency to shred and pummel plantings. The ground web spiders – I look forward to seeing them, too – I call arachnid Brigadoons.

    I hope autumn has brought all good things for you.

    Like

  10. Andrea, I don’t have your email but thank you so much for the very kind review you left for Hammer of Fate on Amazon and Goodreads. Hugely appreciated! We are well past the solstice of Yule, but Happy New Year. Geoff

    Like

  11. Andrea, Your words describe this quiet morning wonderfully and full of poetry.
    yes, our world is so wonderful – I love this planet.
    May the New Year 2024 bring us the freedom to dream, make those dreams come true and forge new paths, the strength to overcome obstacles, the wisdom to make right decisions and the determination to never give up.
    All the best to you and your family…
    Rosie

    Like

  12. Am not sure how I missed this but you bring back to life that really warm Autumn. Your nature descriptions are so precise and beautiful. Wishing you the best and that your writing spreads and is read widely.

    Like

I love comments, please leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.