Stirring

Strings of crocuses herald Candlemas. Butter yellow globes and eerie lilac spears in the plant pots in front of the house, in the park, and along the roadside. They are still buds, closed up tight but ready to burst, brave signals of the season to come. On the eve of Candlemas the sky is aflame: indigo and lilac clouds against an azure sky, pink and orange stripes across the horizon.

At dawn, all that remains of the colour is a thick orange band across the horizon. In a sky of two halves, white clouds scud against blue to the north and a mass of grey veils the south. There is a stillness within the whipping wind that accords with the deep energy of Candlemas. It isn’t yet spring, but spring is stirring. Deep within the earth, transformation is afoot. The shoots and the catkins and the baby leaves give something away, but for now the earth holds onto her mysteries.

The blossom tree that toppled in a storm two years ago is still alive, lying on its side. A small flock of wood pigeons forage on the grass before it. Another of the fallen has been denuded and bleached, but is a skeletal limb on the ground. The landscape seems to be a tangle of ivy, its berries mostly eaten.

At the creek, a group of long-tailed tits bounce over the path from one tree to another, calling softly. The burn is low and still. A robin sings from high up in the canopy. A pair of mallards float quietly on the small weed-choked pond. Six magpies squabble on the grass and a seagull soars on the wind high above. The reeds that line the burn have all been scythed, I think because they were being set on fire by local ruffians. A few marsh marigold flowers are vivid yellow splashes in the stream. 

Mahonia blooms at the edge of the pond. The daffodil shoots are out but there is no hint of any flowers yet. Mallards float languidly and a couple of black headed gulls swoop in. Moorhens flute softly from the reeds. A pair of mallards bob heads in unison. A heron is hunched on the edge of the reeds, back turned to the pond and head under his wing. 

It has been too long since I came to the dene, but the signs of the season are much as always, re-assuring me that some things don’t change. I am trying to re-set myself. After months lacking motivation, staying out of the world and not paying attention, I hope this walk will stir something in me, re-awaken the creative spirit. It is a quiet start, but an intentional one. In the coming days, I will watch the crocuses unfurl their tiny splendours, listen to a robin sing his heart out in a tree of catkins and spot my first ever redwing. The earth is awakening and so am I.

76 thoughts on “Stirring

  1. What a BEAUTIFUL blog post! I especially loved these sentences: “It isn’t yet spring, but spring is stirring. Deep within the earth, transformation is afoot. The shoots and the catkins and the baby leaves give something away, but for now the earth holds onto her mysteries.” I am very grateful to be reminded that sometimes transformations remain hidden until it is time for them to bloom forth! I also am inspired to go for a walk and visit the tired little wetland area which remains (surrounded by human houses, walkways, roads, subway stations and highways) a few blocks from where I live outside of Boston, MA in order to see what I might find stirring there…

    Like

  2. I was so pleased to see your post here today, Andrea! I’m sorry you have had no motivation recently. So frustrating and depressing, but burgeoning spring seems to have lit a little flame in you and got your thoughts ‘stirring’. Beautiful descriptions and lovely photos as ever! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  3. How lovely to read your words again, Andrea! Especially as your awakening world echoes ours and yes, I found myself writing again yesterday afternoon, sentences flowing rather than being stalled by the news of the day and local unrest.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sometimes I think we humans should hibernate. I feel like you at times, and thankfully Spring can bring restoration. Best wishes Andrea. A beautiful bit of writing as always.

    Like

  5. Bore da, Andrea. It was wonderful to stroll in The Dean with you and share the harbingers of spring. You’re right, the blue touch paper of spring has been lighted. The wheel of transition is turning. All we have to do now is watch and wait for the big display. I’m already buzzing with the anticipation of what’s to come.
    It’s good that you got to see Redwing because they’ll be leaving us soon.
    Thanks for putting such a lovely post together, I found it very enjoyable to read.
    Best wishes to everyone. Take care.

    Like

  6. Ohhh, I needed this. I needed the reminder that winter is slowly unfurling, deep down where we can’t see, but where you can feel. Our crocus won’t come to light until mid-April (if we’re lucky), but still, the earth moans below as she prepares for new life.
    And yes, we creatives must revitalize our imaginations, urging our stories forth. Please, urge yours on and on.

    Like

  7. It’s so good to see you back, Andrea. Even if it’s intentional, it’s a lovely start. And sometimes, we have to force ourselves to write to get back to it. As always, I enjoyed reading your beautiful writing very much. So vivid and hopeful.

    Like

  8. Pingback: EúnoiaAn award, a review, Thursday doors and more

  9. Things are stirring here, too, Andrea and, like you, I’ve lacked motivation and spirit. But, I can feel the gentle shifts each day. Spring comes somewhat later for us in the mountains but the subtle changes are slowly revealing themselves. Amazing how we wait and wait and then seems like it happened over night with trees popping out and flowers coming up from the ground. Love and hugs, my friend. Enjoy your spring.

    Like

  10. It’s the redwings I’m looking for but they’re not here yet… So pleased to know you are seeing them there! Love this season of slow gathering. May your creative endeavors bloom with the catkins…

    Like

  11. I enjoyed this celebration of the seasons, Andrea, an awakening in the earth and all its inhabitants, including you. The dene sounds so wonderful with nature everywhere. Your words are moving and appreciated.

    Like

  12. Andrea, thank you for sharing your beautiful walk with its wonderful sense of stillness and observation. I felt a rekindling, an awakening within myself reading your gentle reflections. Nature has that gift, of all being the same yet strikingly unique with each visit. A lovely post! xx

    Like

  13. As observant and evocative as ever Andrea. A naturalist will have a field day around there but for everyone just a wander around will be restorative. Still I hope all that nature has had quite enough rain for now and we might get some finer weather.

    Like

  14. Spring is stirring, transformation is afoot… This is one of the best feelings of the year. There is something about the chaos of spring that draws me in and usually overwhelms me 🙂 Your opening of this post is beautifully written ~ and is matched by the dawn sky of your photo. It is the dawn of a new season, and with it comes the hope and mystery that fuels life on Earth but, perhaps more importantly, ignites a bit of creativity within us as we, too, take off our winter coats and unlayer our thoughts and come to life again. I wish you a wonderful and creative spring ahead, Andrea.  

    Like

I love comments, please leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.