Tooth of the lion

It is dandelion season. They cluster along the edges of roadsides and take over patches of waste ground. They push up from cracks in the pavement and squat in gutters. While the daffodils are withered and brown and the white dead nettle too subtle to compete, it is the dandelions, with their extrovert yellow, that steal the glory.

It was in the 1500s that they became associated with the lion, their jagged leaves giving them the name of lion’s tooth, or dent-de-lion. But their rich colour is also reminiscent of the sun, ruler of Leo, the astrological lion. Today, they have lost any regal associations and are seen as nothing but a weed, inconvenient or despised, depending on your point of view. Yet a field of dandelions is easily as beautiful as one of more well-regarded wildflowers.

When you live in a town, you find the wild where you can. Not just in the obvious parks and squares, but in the edges, the forgotten corners and in the overlooked plants. Since lockdown, when the weeds were given free rein to grow where they might, there seem to be more of them. Weeds have always found enterprising spaces, but they have had a little freedom and are taking advantage of it.

I delight in the dandelions’ beauty in the urban wild, but in the yard, I give them no mercy, pulling them from pots to allow other flowers to flourish. As anyone knows who has tried to dislodge a dandelion, they cling to the soil with a lion’s strength. And they are resilient. Only a few days after the grass mower in the park destroys any flower that has dared to grow, dandelions appear again, pushing up through the grass clippings. They will be with us all through the summer, when we’re distracted by other blooms, and through the turn of another season into autumn, reminding us that beauty is always there in the humblest package.

They remind us too, that nature is forever transforming itself. It isn’t long before the patches of yellow re-emerge as delicate globes, filagrees of seeds ready to be swept away by wind or breath. These spheres are much less robust than the flowers that came before them, those tiny seeds bearing no resemblance to what they will become. But that is the point. Their purpose is to travel: to float and to dance on the whim of the breeze, before finally coming to rest, perhaps far from where they began. The dandelion shifts from form to form effortlessly. As we move into the height of spring, we could learn from its bold journey of renewal.

59 thoughts on “Tooth of the lion

  1. A gloriously sunny post, thank you, Andrea. I love to see them & this year there were plenty on the roadsides. The heavy rains that we’ve had unfortunately put an end to their sunny aspect. Pollinators, like bees just love them! 🐝🐝🐝

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I saw dandelions when I was in Norway last June. I find them pretty…as beautiful as any other flower. When I wrote a poem on them, I researched and learnt of the history behind their name and that they were troublesome weeds. I had no idea how difficult it was to get rid of them until I read this post. It reminded me of my trip and like you said, we must learn from them. Learn to be flexible.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a wonderful, lyrical post, Andrea. You are in superb form today. Back in high school I used to dig up a shopping bag of dandelions for $1. I had to used a long screw driver to dig up more of the root since they go deeply underground. They are quite tenacious. I tried to find a poem about dandelions that included a thought where once a troop of dandelions stood, now stood a troop of gray-haired veterans. I was unable to find that poem but did find a poem where Dandelions represent the Military Child. It has inspired quite a lot of poetry, some by well known poets.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I have finally caught up with your posts, Andrea, and fully enjoyed your beautiful writing on the seasonal changes. Wishing you renewed energy and creativity with the spring.

    Dandelions are among my favorite wildflowers. As a small child, I was given a small apron by my father’s sisters and shown how to gather the leaves of dandelions. His people cooked and ate the nutritious leaves, much like spinach. Those bright golden faces bring back so many memories of people, places and times long gone.

    Liked by 3 people

  5. Truly one of my favorite flowers, and it comes as no surprise that you enjoy them as well. To me they are a happy flower and will always be associated with better times ahead.

    Like

  6. It’s true that a field of dandelions is beautiful. I’m one of those “No-Mow-May” peeps for the bees. My neighbours don’t love me but c’est la vie. I will feed the bees while I can πŸ˜‰

    Lovely descriptions of the perseverance of these blooms!

    Liked by 2 people

  7. They definitely get a bad rap, but are inherently quite useful plants. Edible greens with lots of minerals, and they renew disturbed soil. They grow in my lawn, but I pull them from my gardens… one can have too much of a good thing!

    Like

  8. They are apparently good for wildlife: pollinators for example. The Wildlife Trust, among others, encourages us to leave them in our lawns. Certainly digging them out is virtually impossible, so I just leave them, but remove the old flowers so they don’t seed everywhere.

    Like

  9. It’s a sunny sight! The clocks are marvellous food for goldfinches too. Their weight on landing is just enough to bend the stalk and they pick off every seed! That’s my excuse anyway for leaving them in the garden though I take them out where they’re in the way. Sometimes eat a few of the young leaves too, in salad, bearing in mind their other name – pis en lit.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. β€œInconvenient or despised” indeed; I’m sure my neighbors despair of the amount I tolerate, but it’s a good point that where one of them grows, something more interesting might take root instead. I do uproot several of them on a nearly daily basis for a variety of health tonics, so I’m prepared to say (if I’m ever asked) that I’m growing medicine and they can help themselves to it whenever they like. πŸ™‚ And I think secretly everyone finds their color a balm after a long winter…

    Liked by 2 people

  11. If no one had ever told us when children that dandelions are weeds, we would not see them that way, but instead, applauded their tenacity. But we still can. Just pick and choose when and where they can be that insistent. How nice of you to have given a spotlight to the humble dandelion!

    Like

  12. Oh my gosh, I am forever delighted with your posts and the beauty that you share with us of the world that sometimes we take for granted. I’ve always found the dandelion very cheerful and laughed at other house owners who curse them out. Even my daughter was dismayed by me saying how pretty the dandelions in her yard were! Resilience of the dandelion is something I honor and revere and hope to learn from. As well as your beautiful writing.

    Like

I love comments, please leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.